Do you have Guts?

Well, of course you have guts. But do you have guts in your writing? Are willing to kill the characters you love? When I kill a character, it feels as if I myself plunged the sword into his/her chest. In fact, in my novel, Innovation, I had to kill a character that was dear to me. Another similar surprise is planned for Reformation (Book 3 of The Reformation Trilogy), but I won’t spoil anything! I am learning that, to be a good writer, you have to take chances. Perhaps your risks are not as big as your characters’ risks, but you must take them nevertheless. As you write your novel, you must make each risk bigger that the last. Perhaps, (I will use Anastasia Knight as an example) Anastasia must only worry about herself. Then, she must later saves a friend’s life. Next, she must save several people’s lives. Finally, the whole country’s lives are on her shoulders. To build anticipation, you must execute danger. What makes your heart pound? The sound of footsteps approaching? The tension between characters? A giant lion chasing after you character? Some might say that first person is the way to go in terms of creating a sort of danger that makes you feel in the middle of it, but I think that you can write a very personal third person perspective. I like to switch between characters. If one character is in a sticky situation, I sometimes leave the reader handing by switching to a different character. When writing a romance, you must heighten the risks the couple takes together. They must have difficulties. They must have heartbreak. A good example is The Hunger Games Trilogy. Many characters are killed in the span of three books. Just think. As an author, imagine having to kill all those wonderful characters. For me, it would have been incredibly difficult. I am making it a goal to be more dangerous and outgoing in my writing. Of course, guts in writing does not always entail killing characters. For example, creating unexpected twists and turns in your plot is a great way to execute danger and excitement. Never underestimate the power of words and emotion. Use your character’s weakness to build tension. Twist your character’s emotions and cause them to doubt and fear. Then, have them overcome their weakness. Have them transform from a weakling into a hero. If your character does not have heartbreak or disaster, how can he/she grow? All it takes is words, passion, and guts. Do you have guts in writing?

How do you create danger?

Do you even create danger? Do you built anticipation? Make it your goal to do so. You will not regret it.

And as you create twists, turns, danger, excitement, and breath-catching scenes, you might discover the key to publishment.

Please, let me know how you do it in the comment section below! I am on the quest to be published as well.

Until next time,

S. G. B.

DSC05447

2 thoughts on “Do you have Guts?

  1. Although I am only writing my first book, and I plan it to be a series, I am playing with the idea of a tragedy affecting one of the core characters.

    The nature of the book I am writing means the characters will be routinely placed in dangerous situations, but killing them off might be a step too far for me at this stage.

    • There are all different ways to create danger and tension. For some, killing off a character causes the drama in their story to elevate. Everybody progresses differently, and I have been writing for a few years. I am just now starting to really play with my character’s emotions and take more chances, such as occasionally killing a character or elevate the stakes. The point is to make the reader laugh, cry, and thirst for more. Thanks for the feedback!

      S.G.B.

Leave a Reply

