The Importance of Connection

   

Since the dawn of time, writers have been hunched over something, whether it be a desk or a laptop.

If it were up to writers, the world would consist of no school and no socialization. People would just write and create until their heart’s content.

Much to many writers’ chagrin, the world is quite the opposite. I’m forced to squeeze in time to write my books, whether it’s after doing a truckload of school or after being out of town for a few days. The fact is, most writers are introverts. Now, I could not consider myself a true introvert. I want to be popular and social. I snatch up any chance to enjoy people’s company because… I don’t like being alone all the time. However, let’s face it: most of the people you know probably don’t write. In fact, many probably hate it. But you’re still friends, right? Yes, you need your circle of friends  who like talking about, well, normal stuff. As I’ve matured as a writer, though, I’ve discovered that I need writer friends. The truth is, I don’t have an official editor. I can hand my finished book to a family member, and they might give it an +A, but that’s not what I truly need, although the thought of it is appealing.

Every writer needs a circle of writers.

Without them, you cannot blossom as a writer. You won’t have a buddy to talk about plot structure and laugh at how terrible you are at drawing hands on your characters. My go-to person is (A.K.A.) Ella Douglas, who writes the blog titled Nevermore (which I suggest you check out!). We’ve been friends for a while now, and our writing links us in a unique way. She’s my own editor. Hearing the criticism from someone I know makes it way more bearable, because I’m a person who has trouble hearing flaws in my works. Ella Douglas, in turn, has introduced me to other people who write. I was lacking the community, and now I feel like I’m starting to have it.

And my writing will improve from it.

Ella Douglas writes in a similar genre as myself, and it’s fun comparing ideas and helping each other become a better writer and drawer. Also, she was the one who lent me Ender’s Game (My review of it can be found here)

If it wasn’t for Ella Douglas, I would have no community to converse with. Writers also need people to build them up and encourage them through tough times. I have a personal, private page where the members are close friends and writers. I often post updates from my books, such as quotes and how many words I’ve written in it. Their encouraging words keep me going. If you don’t hear words of praise now and then, you WILL run out of steam.

Also, writers need to physically get up from their laptops and get out into the world. How can we write about relationships between people if we don’t go out into the world?

The thing is, we have to have experience in the event we write about.

That doesn’t mean that I have to go live in Russia and experience the culture (that’s what the internet is for!) for The Reformation Trilogy, but I need to do my research. Through the years, I need to gain experience in what I write about. In The Queen’s Messenger (By the way, I’m happy to say that I finished the rough draft and plan on editing it during/after I write Reformation), Sawyer falls in love with Luke Whitewood. It doesn’t mean I have to have the same experience as Sawyer, but it does help to have an inkling of what love is.

Get out into the world. Check out your local writers.

Maybe, together, we can find what it takes to be published.

Until next time,

S.G.B.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Connection

  1. Eep!!! I’ve been mentioned! Haha I could not stop smiling like an idiot. Also, this post is the truest post I’ve ever read. If I did not have a community of people who shared my interest, I would probably still be stuck writing those horrible stories about the winged goddess and I would have given up long ago since I had no reason to keep sharing my work with people!!

Leave a Reply

