5 Ways Technology Helps Your Writing

I know what you’re thinking. “Technology has fried our brains, and we should, as writers, just go back to the good ole’ quill and ink method.” Honestly, if I had been born in that age, I probably would not have been a writer. My writing is large and, as a left-handed person, pencil marks end up on the side of my hand. That method is tedious and messy. Technology helps me to stay organized and helps my overall writing. Now, in this post, I’m not going to get into social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.), but I want to introduce you to the benefits that technology can provide for your writing. For those in a technology stump or those stone-age believers, here’s my top five ways  to begin the use of technology for the good of your writing:

  1. Something my friend, Ella Douglas, recently introduced to me was the Memo app on my phone. Besides using it for common notes and brainstorming, it is a useful app that I can use to write excerpts of chapters for my book. While out of town, I wrote a small excerpt for Reformation and sent it to my email. Then, I just took the text and put it in my Microsoft document, which brings me to…
  2. Microsoft documents are essential for writing. You can use them to store facts, research, and your books. It’s fairly easy to use, and it helps keep you organized with your writing.
  3. Music is an essential, for me, because I need something to fill the silence and inspire. I wrote a post about how Music Helps Writing a while back, so you can check out more about it there.
  4. It helps you keep up with other authors. Check out some blogs that authors have–they can help you in your writing (like I hope this one is doing!). If it wasn’t for technology, authors would not be able to converse from across the country nearly as easily.
  5. Finally, technology allows writers to keep up with the real world. Let’s face it–Kindles are becoming more popular, and Ebooks are a great way for authors to share their books. If we fall behind in technology, we fall behind in our writing. We can share our ideas, as long as we have a door to do so.

Call me crazy, but I think technology is a good thing. Just don’t let it distract you–Well, that’s a post that will have to wait. The point is, don’t let technology consume you, but use it to benefit your writing. Converse. Create. Continue your writing.

By the way, be on the look out for a new banner at the top of my blog that I’m working on! Hopefully, I will have it up by the next time that I post.

Perhaps, through technology, we can utilize it to help us along the winding pathways that we encounter in our Quest for Publishment.

Until next time,

S.G.B.

Leave a Reply

