How Important is Pinterest?

Reformation

A picture for The Reformation Trilogy, my book series.

If you’re not one of the thousands who’ve joined the addicting world of Pinterest, I’ll explain the concept in a very simplistic way:

It’s a place where you pin pictures from the internet.

At first, it may not sound incredibly appealing or that useful. You can browse thousands of photographs, which are linked to the websites they came from, and pin them to boards that you created. Before you know it, you have a mosaic of clothes, dogs, or whatever you want. I’m a huge proponent of Pinterest for multiple reasons, because it is not only pleasurable, but it inspires me to write. Yes, it’s not just a distraction or another social media site. Now, if you’re not careful, it can become one. You might be drawn to pinning on Pinterest instead of writing your book, but you must remain steadfast, because your book needs you. But I’m here to talk about why you should use Pinterest for your writing. Here’s some helpful tips:

  • On Pinterest I have separate boards for each of my series. I pin actors who could, if my books were ever turned into movies, play them. Their faces help me to envision my characters in a realistic way. Sometimes, I’ll adjust my characters’ appearances to what the actor looks like. A great way to find inspiration for your characters is to search for boards titled “Characters for my Future Books (or Novels).” They don’t have to be actors. In fact, they could just be photographs of ordinary people.
  • It helps me to envision locations. I’ve looked up Russian cities for The Reformation Trilogy and found photographs of brightly colored cities and even Russian soldiers. You could search mountains and create a beautiful collage of them. The wonderful thing is, you can do whatever you want.
  • OUTFITS! You can find just about any kind of accessory, hairstyle, or outfit that you dream of on Pinterest, which can help bring your characters’ outfits to life and help you see what they would look like in real life.
  • Quotes. On Pinterest, there’s an endless amount of inspiring writing quotes and links to blogs. Sometimes, you just need a pick-me-up in your writing, and an encouraging word from your favorite author can do the trick.
  • That being said, sometimes Pinterest is just a gateway to a break. Every writer needs a break, a time to be inspired, or just to have some fun. Crank up your favorite music and start pinning!
  • You can share your blog posts on Pinterest, which is great adverstisement.

Here’s my Pinterest board for The Reformation Trilogy: http://www.pinterest.com/gracebaker12/my-book-series-the-reformation-trilogy/

The Queen’s Messenger: http://www.pinterest.com/gracebaker12/my-novel-the-queens-messenger/

My upcoming book series that’s not named yet: http://www.pinterest.com/gracebaker12/my-book-series-untitled/

My Quest for Publishment board: http://www.pinterest.com/gracebaker12/quest-for-publishment/

As they say, Happy Pinning! Don’t forget to look for some clues to our Quest for Publishment along the way, and please share your tips and finds on Pinterest in the comments section below!

Until Next time,

S.G.B.

3 thoughts on “How Important is Pinterest?

  1. Wow!! Great article, you should submit it to Pinterest. This is the very kind of writing that will win prizes and scholarships. Search Pinterest for some contests to enter. ” Why I like Tide Detergent” or ” Why Little Debbies turn me on!”. Get out there and google those contests. Love from one of your greatest fans.

  2. Pingback: Social Media for Writers | questforpublishment

Leave a Reply

