That “In Between” Stage

 

book

 

First of all, I want to apologize for my absence the last month. Life has been, well, life. Very, very busy.

Second of all, I want to announce that I have officially finished The Reformation Trilogy. 

These books were a joy to write, and I’m quite sad that I have to leave these characters.

Which brings me to my topic for today.

 

There’s that moment after finishing a novel or series where you just sit at your desk. Or, perhaps, you jump up and dance around the room. On the other hand, you might stare at those words The End on your manuscript and cry. Every writer has a different reaction and different feelings when finishing a book. Some need days to recover from post-novel syndrom, while other need weeks. Hopefully you don’t need years, though. For me, I need about 24 hours. Then, I’m anxious to write. I’m anxious to start something new. If you’re like me, your already have several ideas lined up before you finish your book. Perhaps, you’ve already started the outlining before finishing your other novel. When I finished Reformation, I was leaving a whole cast of beloved characters. I’d been a part of their lives for almost two years, and it was a pleasure, truly. I’ll never forget them. They helped me on my journey as a writer. One day when I’m accepting my award for best fiction novel of the year (wink, wink), I’ll be listing all the people who’d had an influence on me in my writing career, and it would be appropriate to say these characters have. However, it was time to move on. So after a hurricane of sadness, happiness, satisfaction, and fear, I’ve started out planning my next project.

For most writers, there’s that “in between” stage after you finish a writing project. You’ve been working on it for so long… how and when do you start something else? Like I’ve already stated, every writer needs a certain spam of time to allow your creative juices to rest and be ready for another arduous journey. But there’s nothing wrong with brainstorming for your new project. For me, I’ve created a Pinterest board for my new endeavor, and I’ve written out a few brief things about some characters. I’ve been writing short stories for the new characters, playing around with their lives and seeing what I might want to do in terms of a plot, because (of course) you must have one. That’s the hardest part, really. Characters (for me) are much easier than coming up with a brand new plot, esp. one that doesn’t resemble my last one. That’s why you need a break. Your brain has to detach from the last idea before making a new one. Still, you might find yourself thinking of your old characters. That’s OK!

There’s a permanent attachment to former characters. After you finishing reading someone else’s series, doesn’t it make you sad to leave those characters? You see, readers have a hard time leaving characters. Well, authors have an even tougher time.

But I must stay on track. After finishing an intensive project, be sure to take a rest. Writing can be mentally toiling. Once you’re ready, don’t sit around. Get back to writing. If you’re content to sit around and do nothing, you’re not a writer. Writers long to write. It’s like an addiction.

Wash, rinse, repeat.

Write a new tale.

Create some new characters. No, they won’t replace the old ones. They’re not supposed to. But you have to move on, because who knows what you’ll encounter next on your Quest for Publishment?

Until next time,

S.G.B.

Trilogy

Leave a Reply

